QA

Quick Answer What is considered obstruction in baseball?

Definition. Obstruction describes an act by a fielder, who is not in possession of the ball or in the process of fielding it, that impedes the baserunner’s progress.

Is obstruction in baseball an error?

A fielder is also charged with an error if he is guilty of obstruction and the umpire awards any baserunner at least one base. Typically, shortstops and third basemen are the positions that commit the most errors because they have to make long and difficult off-balance throws on a regular basis.

Is there obstruction in MLB?

‘ “If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction.

Is obstruction on offense or defense in baseball?

Obstruction refers to a fielder who hinders a runner. In the simplest of terms, interference is a ‘penalty’ against the offense, and obstruction is a penalty against the defense.

What is the difference between interference and obstruction in baseball?

One key distinction between interference and obstruction: Interference is defined as a violation of either the offense or the defense
obstruction can only be committed by the defense
.

What is considered blocking the plate?

In baseball, blocking the plate is a technique performed by a catcher to prevent a runner from scoring. The act of blocking the plate accounted for most of the physical contact in Major League Baseball prior to the 2014 season, when it was outlawed except when the catcher already has possession of the ball.

Can a first baseman obstruct the runner?

A player who dives unsuccessfully for a ground ball and remains on the ground, delaying the progress of a runner, could be guilty of obstruction, as could a first baseman who stands at the inside corner of first base despite it being clear that no play will be made at first, causing the batter to adjust his/her path to …

Can you block second base?

AG: Players in the field can block any base as long as they are holding the ball or are in the process of fielding the ball. To do so without those conditions could result in the blocking player being called for obstruction and the base being awarded to the runner.

Can you block the runner in baseball?

Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the catcher without possession of the ball blocks the pathway of the runner, the umpire shall call or signal the runner safe.

What are considered errors in baseball?

Definition. A fielder is given an error if, in the judgment of the official scorer, he fails to convert an out on a play that an average fielder should have made. Fielders can also be given errors if they make a poor play that allows one or more runners to advance on the bases.

What is considered interference in baseball?

Interference can also be called on the offensive team if a batter hinders the catcher after a third strike when the ball is not caught, a batter intentionally deflects any foul ball, and a baserunner hinders a following play being made on another runner after having scored or been put out.

Does fielder or runner have right of way?

The protection continues until the fielder makes a play or makes a throw after fielding the ball. From beginning to end of this sequence, the fielder has the right of way and runners must avoid impeding the fielder. Here’s the rub. The rules protect only one fielder.

What happens if a runner runs into a fielder?

a. When a runner is called out for crashing into a fielder holding the ball, the ball becomes dead. Each runner must return to the last base touched at the time of interference.

Can a runner interfere with a fielder?

Nor must physical contact occur for interference to be called
a runner may interfere with a fielder simply by hindering the fielder’s ability to attempt to make a play on a batted ball.

How do you signal a blockage?

This type of obstruction is to be signaled by the umpire immediately calling “Time” (both hands overhead) and then pointing laterally at the obstruction while calling loudly and clearly, “That’s obstruction.” The ball is dead immediately under this section of the obstruction rule, and all runners shall be awarded bases …

Can a fielder stand in the base path?

Fielders without the ball often stand on a base or in the base path. Doing so does not make them guilty of obstruction. They’re not obstructing unless a runner’s advance or path is altered.

What is defensive interference in baseball?

Defensive interference is an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch. (c) Catcher Interference. The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with him.

Does a battery have to move on a throw to third?

The short answer is “nothing.” Unless the batter makes a movement that hinders the catcher, or otherwise intentionally impedes using his body or bat, the batter is pretty much immune from interference if he remains still in the batter’s box.

Can you jump over the catcher in baseball?

Can you jump over the catcher in baseball? Yes, a runner from 3rd base is allowed to jump over the catcher as long as he remains in the baseline. These types of plays are exciting to watch, and the runner is often successful in scoring a run when he makes a perfect jump.

Do you have to slide into home in baseball?

No. Little League does not have a “Must Slide” rule for a runner sliding into home or any other base. However, any runner is out when the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag.

Can you block the plate in college baseball?

If the defensive player blocks the base (plate) or base line with clear possession of the ball, the runner may slide into to make contact with the fielder as long as the runner is making a legitimate attempt to reach the base (plate).

Can you run inside the first base line?

Sometimes thinking the game simply has to do with knowing the rules and following them. The legal running lane to first base can be a bit confusing. The base is inside the foul line, but the runner must be outside the foul line in the last 45 feet to first base unless he is reaching (stepping) towards the base.

Can you block 3rd base in baseball?

In Type A obstruction plays, the runner is awarded one base from his last legally touched base. In the above play, Miller’s last legally touched base was third base so he would be awarded home even though he was returning to third base.

Can you fake tag in baseball?

After a clean hit to the outfield, the batter-runner attempts stretch it into a double. As the runner approaches second base, the shortstop fakes a tag without possession of the ball. Ruling: A fake tag is considered obstruction and the umpire is to award whatever bases will nullify the obstruction.

What is a dead-ball appeal?

A dead-ball appeal can be verbal and made by a coach or any defensive player. If an umpire anticipates a possible appeal and the ball is already back to the pitcher, it is much easier to administer the appeal by making the ball dead and telling the defense to make the verbal appeal.